Law Enforcement Product News

JAN 2014

Issue link: https://lepn.epubxp.com/i/239482

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 37 of 39

Industry News BLACKHAWK!'s... Ballistics study leads to changes at Federal agency line of premium-made holsters was recently named the 2013 "Holster Brand of the Year," for the third year in a row, as part of the annual OpticsPlanet Brilliance Awards. The BLACKHAWK! SERPA Level 3 Tactical Holster was also awarded the Experts' Pick for "Best Tactical Holster." A team of researchers led by Sam Houston State University identified a number of areas of improvement in a national database of forensic ballistics evidence used to link guns to violent crimes. The report, released by the National Institute of Justice, has already led to improvements in the system called the National Integrated Ballistic Information Network (NIBIN), which is operated by the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF). NIBIN is the only nationwide database that allows for the comparison of ballistics evidence in criminal cases, either to assist in identifying a suspect or to link firearms to different crimes. Firearms examiners at state and local crime laboratories compare tool marks on fired bullets or cartridges found at a crime scene to digitized images of ballistic evidence in the nationwide, NIBIN database. The study, funded by the National Institute of Justice, found that criminal investigators rarely used the ballistics reports to link weapons used in multiple crimes because they were delivered after the investigation had concluded. The NIBIN system, which encompasses 150 local police agencies and crime labs across the country that analyze bullets and cartridges markings, took an average of 101 days to produce reports. View the full report, "Opening the Black Box of NIBIN: A Descriptive Process and Outcome Evaluation of the Use of NIBIN and its Effects on Criminal investigation," at www.tinyurl.com/my3tsbm. IWI US, Inc.... subsidiary of Israel Weapon Industries (IWI), announced the creation of a law enforcement division. The new division will support law enforcement sales, marketing and distribution for the TAVOR SAR and future IWI U.S. law enforcement products. Silver Ships, Inc.... was awarded a firm-fixed price, indefinite-delivery/indefinitequantity multiple award contract for the construction of High Speed Maneuverable Surface Targets (HSMSTs). The U.S. Navy maintains an inventory of HSMSTs to be utilized mainly for weapon system test and evaluation and fleet training exercises at nine seaborne target operating activities ("ranges"). This issue is brought to you by these leading industry companies Please let them know you saw their advertisements in Law Enforcement Product News For more in-depth information on these advertisers, please visit their websites Editorial Index American Tactical Imports 8 AOR USA 35 Ashbury Precision Ordnance Mfg 8 Badge Apps 6 Bianchi, a part of The Safariland Group 23 Chinook Medical Gear 34 Coban Technologies Inc 32 Colt Defense LLC 22 Defense Technology, a part of the Safariland Group 20 DeSantis Gunhide 23 Elkhart Brass 18 Elzetta Design LLC 18 Esmet 32 Etymotic Research Inc 22 Federal Signal 6 Franzen 13 Full-Scale Tactics 22 Gamber-Johnson 32 Glock Inc 22 HECKLER & KOCH 23 Impeltronics 20 Israel Weapon Industries 12 KA-BAR Knives Inc 23 Kel-Tec CNC Industries Inc 22 Laser Devices 10 Liberty Ammunition 6 Magnum Research Inc 8 Maxsell Corp 23 Meopta USA 11 Mission First Tactical LLC 14 MKS Supply 22 Mobile Edge 23 Patriot3 6 Point Blank Enterprise 33 RealVNC 6 Ruger Firearms 23 Safariland 13, 14, 23 SCOTTEVEST 22 SETCAN 20 SIG SAUER Inc 23 Streamlight Inc 23 SUREFIRE 23 SureFire 20 Tacprogear 34 Traditions Performance Firearms 12 TruckVault 11 ZCO Corp 23 38 Advertiser Index Advertiser . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Website. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Page # Advertiser . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Website. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . Page # Aedec / Accel Plastics www.accelplastics.com . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 39 Kroll International LLC www.krollcorp.com . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 9, 27 Amchar www.amcharlaw.com . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 34 Kussmaul Electronics Co www.kussmaul.com . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 18 AOR USA Inc www.aorusa.com . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 29 Laser Devices Inc www.laserdevices.com . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 26 Ashbury Precision Ordnance www.ashburypercisionordnance.com . . . 28 Liberty Ammunition www.libertyammo.com . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 8 ATK Security and Sporting www.forceonforce.com. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 7 Lind Electronics Inc www.lindelectronics.com . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 32 Attack Opgear www.attackopgear.com . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 18 Luna Optics www.lunaoptics.com . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 29 Biostat LLC www.biostatllc.com . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 14 Mace Personal Defense Inc www.macetactical.com. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 18 Black Hills Ammunition www.black-hills.com . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 26 Magna-Matic Defense www.magna-matic-defense.com . . . . . . . 16 Boker USA www.bokerusa.com . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 30 Mec-Gar USA, Inc www.mec-gar.com . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 10 Boston Leather www.bostonleather.com . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 28 Mechanix Wear www.mechanix.com. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 31 Brownells, Inc www.brownells.com . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 35 Night Optics www.nightoptics.com . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 34 Castles K-9, Inc www.castlek9.com . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 37 Night Vision Depot www.nvdepot.com . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 5 Central Police Supply www.centralpolice.com . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 33 Noble Pine Products www.sterifab.com. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 16 Combined Systems, Inc www.commbinedsystems.com . . . . . . . . . 19 North Amer Police Ski Champ www.napsc.com . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 36 CorBon/Glaser www.cobbon.com. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 29 OfficeStore com www.officestore.com. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 35 Corporate Imports www.mypolicestuff.com . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 37 Ontario Knife Company www.ontarioknife.com. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 10 Cyalume Technologies, Inc www.cyalume.com. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 24 Patriot 3 Inc www.patriot3.com. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 33 D&H Industries www.dh-tactical.com. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 30 PeaceKeeper Decal Grip www.decalgrip.com . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 37 Pelican Products www.pelican.com. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 20 DeSantis Holster & Leather www.desantisholster.com. . . . . . . . . . . . . . 10 Phoenix Tech www.kicklitestocks.com . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 16 Dojo Toys www.dojotoys.com. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 26 Qualification Targets www.targets.com . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 16 Dummies Unlimited www.dummiesunlimited.com . . . . . . . . . . . 21 Savage Range Systems www.savagerangesystems.com . . . . . . . . 12 Earphone Connection, Inc www.earphoneconnect.com . . . . . . . . . . . 16 Setina Mfg Co , Inc www.setina.com . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 11 Elite Defense www.elitedefense.com/the-program . . . . 30 Skyline Toolworks LLC www.clipdrawcom . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 37 Fobus Holster www.fobusholster.com . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 8 Smith & Warren www.smithwarren.com . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 26 Fox Outdoor Products www.foxoutdoor.com. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 29 Smith & Wesson www.smith-wesson.com. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 15 Garrett Metal Detectors www.garrett.com . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 34 Southern Police Equipment Co www.southernpoliceequipment.com . . . . 13 Golight, Inc www.golight.com . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 24 STI International Inc www.stiguns.com . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 28 GT Distributors www.gtist.com. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 3 Streamlight Inc www.streamlight.com . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 31 Human Restraint www humanrestraint com Tacprogear, LLC www.tacprogearblack.com . . . . . . . . . . . . 28 ILEETA www.ileeta.org . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 35 TruckVault Inc www.truckvault.com . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 30 IlluminationGear www.illuminationgear.com . . . . . . . . . . . . . 24 TRU-SPEC www.truspec.com . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 40 IPMBA News www.ipmba.org . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 36 Tufloc/Esmet Inc www.tufloc.com . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 25 KDH Defense Systems Inc www.kdhdefensesystems.com . . . . . . . . . . 2 Watch Guard Video www.watchguardvideo.com. . . . . . . . . . . . 17 Kel-Tec CNC www kel-tec-cnc com Ziegel Engineering www.ziegeleng.com. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 37 Law Enforcement Product News January 2014 www.officer.com/directory 37 18 . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . 21

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Law Enforcement Product News - JAN 2014